Property course online for town planning students

What does Code Assessable mean?

There are three types of assessments that can be assessable under a local instrument such as a Planning Scheme (i.e. the Planning Regulation 2017):

  • Accepted
  • Assessable
  • Prohibited

Normally, a Planning Scheme will identify the level or type of assessment, and also the applicable assessment benchmarks for a development.


Certain kinds of development can be considered ‘accepted development’. These developments do not need a development application if they meet certain requirements under either the local planning scheme or the Planning Regulation 2017. Provided the applicant carries out a self-assessment of the development against the requirements, you as the town planner will not require anything in writing from the Council to commence the activity.

For example, in most Council regions, you can build a granny flat without council approval as long as you comply with their codes relating to the size and location of the building. This is an ‘accepted development’.


Assessable Development refers to a development that can only be carried out if development approval has been obtained. There are two types of assessments:

  • Code Assessment
  • Impact Assessment

A code assessable application is a bounded assessment that must only be evaluated against assessment benchmarks (e.g. the codes) stated in the planning scheme, whilst having regard to the requirements under the Planning Regulation 2017.

The assessor must approve the development application to the extent it complies with assessment benchmarks, or if compliance can be achieved by imposing development conditions.

Learn more by completing our FREE online course here:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *